By Paul Dixon | Range Gear
Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I pick what to recommend based on published specs and independent reviews, not on what pays.
Walk down the firing line at just about any range and count the earmuffs. A lot of them will be one of two models: the Howard Leight Impact Sport or the Walker’s Razor Slim. They cost about the same, run on the same batteries, and do the same basic job. So which one should you buy?
I did 20 years in the Air Force, and I don’t take hearing protection lightly. I also won’t pretend I’ve run these two side by side, because I haven’t. What follows is drawn from what Howard Leight and Walker’s publish about their own muffs, plus what shooters and reviewers who did test them reported. Sources are at the bottom. Where they disagree or a spec just isn’t published, I’ll tell you.
Impact Sport vs Razor Slim: the short version
- Go with the Howard Leight Impact Sport if you want the longest published battery life (about 350 hours), mics that handle wind better, cushions you can replace, and a muff that folds small.
- Go with the Walker’s Razor Slim if comfort over a long day and wearing glasses matter most. Gun Tests rated it the most comfortable of the four muffs they tried and the friendliest to eyewear. It’s also rated 1 dB higher (NRR 23 vs 22).
- Honestly, either one is a solid first pair of electronic muffs. A 1 dB difference on paper isn’t worth losing sleep over. How the muff fits your head matters more.
Do I need electronic hearing protection?
Start here. Every time you shoot, you need hearing protection of some kind. NIOSH (the CDC’s occupational safety institute) recommends that shooters use double protection, earplugs plus earmuffs, every time a weapon is fired.
You don’t have to go electronic. Plain passive muffs and foam plugs protect you too. What electronic muffs add is the ability to hear. They pick up range commands, your buddy’s questions and the RO, then cut the amplification when a shot goes off. NIOSH specifically suggests electronic earmuffs worn over passive earplugs for shooters who need to communicate. That’s the job both of these muffs are built for.
If you’re still on the fence, I break it down in Electronic vs Passive Ear Muffs for Shooting.
Howard Leight Impact Sport vs Walker’s Razor: the specs side by side
| Spec | Howard Leight Impact Sport | Walker’s Razor Slim (GWP-RSEM) |
|---|---|---|
| NRR (published) | 22 dB (on and off) | 23 dB |
| Amplification / cutoff | Amplifies ambient sound up to 4x; stops amplifying above 82 dB | Sound-activated compression, 0.02-second reaction time; Amazon listing says protection kicks in over 89 dB |
| Microphones | Built-in directional (stereo) mics; foam-covered per Gun Tests | Two hi-gain omnidirectional mics |
| Speakers | Not specified by maker | “Full dynamic range HD speakers” |
| Batteries | 2 x AAA (included) | 2 x AAA (included) |
| Published battery life | About 350 hours | Not published by Walker’s |
| Auto shut-off | Yes, after 4 hours | Sources conflict (see below) |
| Weight (retailer-listed) | 9.5 oz | 10.08 oz (Amazon listing) |
| Folding | Yes; folded smallest of four muffs in Gun Tests’ review | Yes, “ultra-compact & collapsible” |
| Gun-stock clearance | Slim earcup design for stock clearance (Air Flow Control) | “Ultra low-profile” rubberized cups; tapered per Gun Tests |
| AUX input | Yes, 3.5 mm cord included | Yes, audio input jack |
| Replaceable cushions | Yes (snap-in) | Not stated by maker |
| Price | Check current price | Check current price |
On price: when I checked on Nov 2, 2026, Howard Leight’s own site listed the Impact Sport at an MSRP of $95.94. You’ll usually find it for less, and prices on both of these move around a lot, so check the current price before you buy.
How much protection are you actually getting?
On the box, the Impact Sport says NRR 22 and the Razor Slim says NRR 23. That number comes from a lab with a perfect fit, and nobody gets a perfect fit at the range.
NIOSH has recommended derating the labeled NRR on earmuffs by 25% for real-world use. It also says individual fit testing is the best way to know what protection you’re really getting. My take: a muff that seals well on your head beats one with a slightly bigger number that doesn’t. Don’t pick between these two over 1 dB.
Shooting indoors? It’s louder in there. Read Best Electronic Ear Protection for Indoor Shooting Ranges before you go.
Hearing the range: mics, sound and wind
Both muffs work the same basic way. Mics on the outside feed sound to speakers inside the cups, and the amplification cuts out when something loud hits.
Impact Sport. Howard Leight says its directional mics amplify range commands and ambient sound “to a safe 82dB,” and amplification stops above that. Gun Tests pointed out that the mics are covered in foam to cut wind noise, which their testers liked outdoors. They called the sound clarity good, with some hiss when you crank the volume.
Razor Slim. Walker’s lists two hi-gain omnidirectional mics, “full dynamic range HD speakers,” and compression that reacts in 0.02 seconds. In a session with about a 5 mph breeze, Gun Tests could hear the wind in the mics. They also heard a slight hiss at high volume.
If you shoot outdoors a lot and your range is a windy one, the reviews lean toward the Impact Sport here.
Earmuffs for glasses wearers: which one seals better?
If you wear glasses, prescription or shooting, this section matters most to you. NIOSH found that wearing earmuffs over safety glasses caused leaks at the cushion seal and cut protection. Gun Tests saw the same thing: some eyewear frames affected the seal on every muff they tested.
Between these two, the Razor Slim comes out ahead in the hands-on reviews:
- Gun Tests called the Razor Slim “the most comfortable to wear of all the units tested.” They reported no C-clamp squeeze and found it friendlier to eyewear, which they credited to its softer ear cushions.
- On the Impact Sport, Gun Tests said the cushions were slightly harder and didn’t seal as well with eye protection. On the plus side, those cushions are replaceable, so worn pads don’t mean a new pair of muffs.
- Camp Quiver noted the Impact Sport is sized Medium/Large and can sit loose on a small head. It also said the Razor Slim’s headband padding is thin and its slim cups may wear on you sooner over a long day.
So even the reviewers don’t fully agree on all-day comfort. If you can, try them both on at a shop, wearing the glasses you actually shoot in. And whichever you wear, NIOSH recommends a foam plug underneath. That’s a good backup if your frames break the seal a little.
Getting a cheek weld: stock clearance and profile
Both muffs are built so the cup doesn’t bang into your stock.
- Howard Leight says the Impact Sport’s slim earcup design “ensures your firearm stock has clearance while shooting.”
- Walker’s sells the Razor Slim on its “ultra low-profile ear cups.” Gun Tests said the Razor’s cups are tapered so they knock the stock less, and it described the Impact Sport’s cups as tapered too.
- Camp Quiver picked the Razor Slim for long-gun shooters because of those low-profile cups.
If you run a lot of rifle or shotgun, the reviewers give the Razor a slight edge. If you mostly shoot pistol, call it even.
How long do electronic earmuff batteries last?
Both take 2 AAA batteries, both come with them in the box, and you can buy AAAs at any gas station on the way to the range.
- Impact Sport: Howard Leight publishes about 350 hours of battery life and a 4-hour auto shut-off. If you forget to turn them off after a range day, they’ll do it for you.
- Razor Slim: Walker’s doesn’t publish a battery-life number for this model. Whether it has an auto shut-off is unclear. Gun Tests’ review says theirs had one, a reader comment on that same review says the Razor Slim doesn’t, and Walker’s own feature list doesn’t mention it. Check the manual or listing for the exact version you’re buying, and get in the habit of switching it off.
If you’d rather recharge than buy AAAs, Walker’s also makes a Razor Rechargeable with USB-C and a published 80 hours of battery life. Know that Walker’s rates that one at NRR 21, a bit lower than the Slim.
AUX input and the little stuff
Both have a 3.5 mm jack for music, a scanner or a radio. Howard Leight includes the cable. The Walker’s listings I found mention the jack but not a cable.
Walker’s makes the Razor in a bunch of colors. Some listings mention separate volume controls for each ear, but others, including an Amazon spec sheet, describe a single knob. If separate left and right volume matters to you, check the listing for the exact model.
Pros and cons
Howard Leight Impact Sport
What I like on paper
– About 350 hours of published battery life, plus a 4-hour auto shut-off
– Foam-covered mics to knock down wind noise (per Gun Tests)
– Replaceable snap-in ear cushions
– Folded the smallest of the four muffs in Gun Tests’ review
– 3.5 mm audio cord in the box
What gives me pause
– NRR 22, 1 dB lower than the Razor
– Firmer cushions sealed less well with eyewear in Gun Tests’ review
– Medium/Large sizing may run loose on smaller heads (per Camp Quiver)
👉 Check current price: Check current price on Amazon (Howard Leight Impact Sport)
Walker’s Razor Slim
What I like on paper
– NRR 23
– Most comfortable of the four muffs Gun Tests tried, and friendlier to eyewear
– Ultra-low-profile cups for long guns
– Plenty of color options
What gives me pause
– No published battery life, and auto shut-off is unclear
– Wind noise in the mics at about 5 mph (Gun Tests)
– Thin headband padding (per Camp Quiver)
👉 Check current price: Check current price on Amazon (Walker’s Razor Slim)
Best electronic earmuffs for the range: who should buy which?
Get the Impact Sport if you:
– Shoot outdoors a lot, where wind noise matters
– Want long, predictable battery life and an auto shut-off
– Want to swap out worn cushions instead of buying new muffs
– Need something that packs small in a range bag
Get the Razor Slim if you:
– Wear glasses all day and want the best shot at comfort
– Shoot mostly rifle or shotgun and want the lowest-profile cups
– Want the extra 1 dB of NRR, or just like a particular color
Want to step up? Howard Leight’s Impact Pro is rated NRR 30 and marketed for indoor and covered ranges. I compare the two in Howard Leight Impact Sport vs Impact Pro.
My verdict
These two are closer than the forum arguments make them sound. Gun Tests gave both an “A.” Their published ratings are 1 dB apart, and they run on the same batteries.
For most new shooters, I’d point you to the Howard Leight Impact Sport. It wins on what’s actually published: long battery life, auto shut-off, wind-resistant mics and replaceable cushions. If you wear glasses or mostly shoot long guns, I’d lean toward the Walker’s Razor Slim. It earned the best comfort marks from people who wore it.
Whichever you pick, do what NIOSH recommends: put foam plugs under the muffs, especially indoors, and make sure the cups seal around your glasses.
FAQ
Do I need electronic hearing protection, or are regular muffs fine?
You need protection every time you shoot, but it doesn’t have to be electronic. Electronic muffs let you hear commands and conversation without pulling your protection off. NIOSH suggests electronic muffs over passive earplugs for shooters who need to communicate. More in Electronic vs Passive Ear Muffs for Shooting.
Are electronic earmuffs safe for shooting?
They’re rated hearing protectors: NRR 22 for the Impact Sport and NRR 23 for the Razor Slim. They also cut amplification when a loud noise hits. NIOSH still recommends doubling up with earplugs, and real-world protection depends on fit. Glasses can break the seal.
What are the best earmuffs for glasses wearers?
Between these two, Gun Tests found the Razor Slim friendlier to eyewear because of its softer cushions. With any muff, NIOSH found that safety glasses can break the seal, so a foam plug underneath is cheap insurance.
How long do electronic earmuff batteries last?
It depends on the model. Howard Leight publishes about 350 hours on 2 AAAs for the Impact Sport, with a 4-hour auto shut-off. Walker’s doesn’t publish a figure for the Razor Slim. The rechargeable Razor is rated for 80 hours per charge.
What’s the best ear pro for an indoor range?
Indoor ranges are loud and echo, so NIOSH recommends dual protection: plugs plus muffs. See Best Electronic Ear Protection for Indoor Shooting Ranges and Best Electronic Earplugs for Shooting.
This article compares products and is not medical advice. If you have concerns about your hearing, talk to a qualified professional.
One more thing
Besides writing about range gear, I’m building Dixon’s CCW Pants: concealed-carry, 4-way stretch selvage jeans with a patent-pending design. They’re $119, and I’m taking a waitlist for the first run of 50 pairs. If that sounds like your kind of jeans, you can get on the list here: Join the Dixon’s CCW Pants waitlist
Sources
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports, Impact Sport Electronic Earmuff (NRR 22, 82 dB cutoff, Air Flow Control/stock clearance, folding, AUX + 3.5 mm cord, ~350 hr, 2 AAA, 4-hr auto shut-off, MSRP $95.94 as viewed Nov 2, 2026): https://www.howardleightshootingsports.com/products/impact-sport-electronic-earmuff
- Honeywell Store, Impact Sport R-01526 (NRR 22 in on and off mode, up to 4x amplification; this colorway listed as discontinued): https://www.honeywellstore.com/store/products/honeywell-shooting-sports-impact-series-electronic-earmuffs-r-01526.htm
- Honeywell Impact Sport datasheet (snap-in replaceable ear cushions, stock-clearance cutout): https://prod-edam.honeywell.com/content/dam/honeywell-edam/sps/his/en-au/localized/hearing-protection/documents/sps-ppe-impact-sport-sound-amplification-earmuff-datasheet.pdf
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports, Impact Pro Electronic Earmuff (NRR 30, indoor/covered ranges): https://www.howardleightshootingsports.com/products/impact-sport-pro-electronic-earmuff
- Walker’s Game Ear, Razor Slim Electronic Muff, Patriot series (NRR 23, two omni mics, HD speakers, 0.02 s compression, audio jack, folding, 2 AAA): https://www.walkersgameear.com/razor-patriot-series/
- Walker’s Game Ear, Razor Rechargeable (NRR 21, 80 hr, USB-C): https://www.walkersgameear.com/razor-rechargeable/
- Amazon listing, Walker’s Razor Slim (10.08 oz, protection over 89 dB, single-knob volume per spec sheet): https://www.amazon.com/Walkers-Electronic-Protection-Amplification-Suppression/dp/B01BXVPCHK
- Omni Outdoor Living, Walker’s Razor Slim GWP-RSEM listing (features list): https://omnioutdoorliving.com/walkers-razor-slim-electronic-muffs-black-gwprsem/gwprsem
- Rifle Configurator, Impact Sport catalog entry (9.5 oz): https://www.rifleconfigurator.com/catalog/hearing-protection/howard-leight-impact-sport
- Gun Tests, “Electronic Hearing Protection: We Test Four Units Ear to Ear” (Oct 23, 2019; hands-on comfort, wind, fold size, cushions, grades; reader comment on Razor auto shut-off): https://www.gun-tests.com/accessories/range-gear/electronic-hearing-protection-we-test-four-units-ear-to-ear-2/
- Camp Quiver, “Howard Leight vs Walker’s Razor” (sizing, headband padding, long-gun clearance): https://campquiver.com/guides/howard-leight-vs-walkers-razor
- NIOSH, “Firearms and Hearing Protection” (double protection; electronic muffs with plugs): https://stacks.cdc.gov/view/cdc/185948
- NIOSH Publication 2009-136, indoor firing ranges (dual protection; safety glasses break the earmuff seal): https://doi.org/10.26616/nioshpub2009136
- NIOSH, Criteria for a Recommended Standard: Occupational Noise Exposure, 98-126 (derate earmuff NRR by 25%): https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/docs/98-126/pdfs/CriteriaDoc_98-126.pdf
- CDC/NIOSH, Provide Hearing Protection (fit testing best way to check protection): https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/noise/prevent/ppe.html